Continuation of our Series from Emma Medeiros

It feels like a positive sign that there was such an abundance of plus-size fashion during New York Fashion Week that we simply couldn’t cram it all into one article! Be sure to enjoy part The CURVY Side of New York Fashion Week, Part 1 if you missed it! 

11Honore (https://11honore.com/), the first shopping site to give women of all sizes access to the normally “forbidden” realm of haute couture, red carpet designs by brands such as Carolina Herrera, Diane Von Furstenberg, and Dolce & Gabbana, collaborated with up and coming size-inclusive brand Wingate Collection (https://wingate-collection.com/) for a much appreciated pop-up shop. It was an encouraging acknowledgment of just how essential it is for plus women to try clothes on before buying them. While at first somewhat taken aback by their higher price point, I confess I felt like a queen when my skin was caressed by indulgent, luxurious fabrics and, most importantly, the fantastic construction of the garments. When speaking to co-founders Daniel Wingate and Peter Husemann, I was amazed at the amount of planning and thought that went into these deceptively simple styles. For example, slits on the side of a tailored jacket so us, uh, booty blessed gals don’t feel like we’re wearing a box. Definitely worth the price, ladies! 

The night continued at LOFT Times Square (@loveloft_nyc) Galentines Day shopping party where LOFT joined forces with Taelor Pawnell (@stylishsista), Plus-size Creator & Art Director of Stylish Sista (https://stylishsista.com/) to offer shoppers special discounts, champagne, yummy treats, and even free manicures. 

I was also thrilled to meet up with my fellow full figured friends Steffany Bready-Edwards, stylist and plus designer of Steffany Allen Limited (http://steffanyallen.com/), celebrity stylist and author Susan Moses (http://susanmoses.com/), stylist and silver fox model, Tan Bee (@just.tan.bee), and professional plus models Sarah Jane Howard-Amuka (@dagigglesjane), Lauren Baez (@Laurenbaez), Clare Rea (@heyclarerea), Lynley Eilers (@lynleyeilers), and Sabina Michel (@sabina_michel)!

The fabulous fashions were not just limited to NYC. On February 22nd, during the renowned Philadelphia Fashion Week (https://www.phillyfashionweek.org/), Lov’n My Curves, LLC. (@lovnmycurvesphl), founded by Marquita Williams, showcased powerful plus size designers such as Classic Beauty Inc (https://www.classicbeautyinc.net/), Sheryl Lee Ralph (@diva3482), and even Muslim-friendly fashions by Proud Muslimah (@_naseehah_proudmuslimah). And, of course, they were all made even more gorgeous when brought to life by stunning models like Sarah Biermann (@sarah.biermann.plus), Jazmin Williams (@jazzmin.williams), and Sabina Michel (@sabina_michel). 

And no, boys, you were not forgotten! Styles by men’s Big & Tall designer Vamargi Lanino (@rocmonee1) and C. Andre Daniels (@advocate1) were slayed by delicious male models like DeOnte (@howu_knownew_), Kevin Witherspoon (@kevwitherspoon), and Dapper Dann (@_dapper.dann).

But, wait. There’s more! Check out The CURVY side of New York Fashion Week, Part 3… coming soon!

About the Author:

Emma Medeiros is the president and founder of Medeiros Fashion PR (https://www.medeirosfashionpr.com/), the FIRST public relations firm in the US to specialize in the plus size fashion industry. Based in NYC, Emma received her degree in Integrated Marketing Communications from Boston’s Emerson College and started Medeiros Fashion Public Relations in 2015 after realizing that, out of the thousands of fashion public relations firms in the US, not ONE of them specialized in this exploding industry. With a mixture of class and sass, the goal of Medeiros Fashion Public Relations is to place plus size fashion on an equal footing with straight size fashion. Emma declares, “There’s absolutely NO reason for them to be separate and, once I accomplish that, I can die a happy woman!”

Plus size designers, retailers, models, etc, can book their FREE consultation with Medeiros Fashion PR at emma@medeirosfashionpr.com.

Hashtags: #TheNewRunway #loveloft #pfw2020

%d bloggers like this: